Kashmir…I Love You!

Kashmir…I love you!
I remembered you
Tears couldn’t help holding
But pour out the pain
That i have been living with all my life

Words have failed me once again…
I don’t even know how am I supposed to feel?

Should I be sad?
For the land where 60 years ago my dad was born
Is now in the hands of Indians?

Should I be angry?
For some people are celebrating one of history’s biggest crime
Of invading a land of other people
and claiming it their own?

Should I be hopeful?
That even after 64 years
Kashmiris are still standing,fighting
and never loosing faith in their freedom..

Even if they live in the other parts of the world
When asked “Where from are You?
They say “We are From Kashmir,
Not India”

Should I be a Heartbroken?
Even after 60 years
The land is still occupied and brutalised with a million soldiers
Holding guns at my sisters,mothers and my people?

Should i be a Pessimist?
That India’s occupation is
being called “legitimate” and “Integral Part?”
and that the leaders of the world are congratulating it for its independence and its riches

Should I lose hope
that all the Muslims
and the sane have done nothing
to aid their brothers and sisters?

Should I be sorry?
For all the million obvious reasons
for living my life normally
as always forgetting and moving on?

Should I be ashamed?
Because not only the land is not free
but us here and there?
Scattered some in exile and some in fear

Should I be patient?
For the longing
Of those I see around me
Longing to meet by the gates of Jhelum
Longing to be together in a Free Kashmir…

I don’t know which of these feelings should prevail
but I can’t help but say I love you…
I love you Land of the Saints and the resilient.

Circa 2010

© Faysal

3 thoughts on “Kashmir…I Love You!

  1. We have to forgive and strive each day to make this world a better place. We have two choices, either we respond to hatred with hatred and add more hatred or show love and compassion and bring about constructive change. For establishing peace, justice is important and justice is a noble end and we have to find a noble a way to establish it and I feel that mean is ” Constructive Resilience”.

    I read your thougts about your friend, “Tariq”, I loved the way you said that the overdose of Indian movies made you think that love is class less.
    Just thought to share this verse with you.

    ” Fuzul har baat hei, humari ek zaat hei
    jaha jaha hei aadmi, wo khandaan hei mera
    yei sab zameen hei meri, yei aasman hei mera
    makeene har makan hu mei ki har makaan hei mera”

    Like

Leave a Reply

